A Book Review of Living Unbroken

I’ve recently had the incredible privilege of being part of Tracie Miles’ launch team for her newest book titled Living Unbroken: Reclaiming Your Life and Your heart after Divorce. Not seeming like a potential candidate at first, I dismissed the idea of applying because I have not gone through the pain or process of a divorce, myself.

Then it hit me. I DO understand- just from a whole different perspective. My parents were separated for about a year when I was a teenager. It was like a nightmare, to be honest, and I still remember the whole ordeal as if it happened yesterday. The pain. The suffering. The shock. The fear. The tears. The emotions. The guilt. The confusion. The sadness. All of it. So, I decided to apply to her launch team and the rest is history. Now, here I am writing a review! Scroll on..

I want to begin by simply saying WOW! Right off the bat, I had no trouble diving into and relating to this book! She is so genuine and up front about her feelings, that it caused me to feel as if we were going through both of our situations together, somehow. I could feel her words jumping off the page. It was as if she was right there beside me in my living room having a conversation. Her emotions tugged at my heart and I must admit that I wiped tears away a few times, while envisioning the many she must have shed writing this book.

Granted, my personal experience on this topic was a much different one, but the difficulty, intense pain and shock of dealing with the fallout and consequences of the sudden broken marriage of my parents, was much the same. Not one ounce of what I read in Tracie’s book was lost on me. Yet, rather than just reliving my nightmare as an adolescent, her book offers so many Biblical truths that are comforting to read. Nothing can substitute for the Word of God and she is excellent with her use of scriptural tie-in and how it can apply to our lives, however messy they may be. There’s always hope found in Him! She also talks about many different helpful and practical ways to not only deal with and face this type of pain and grief head on, but to then decide to move on from it… to turn the page…and go on to discover that a joyous life still awaits with open arms! Like the back of her book says:

Living Unbroken will help you realize that the end of your marriage is not the end of you. You can still love, enjoy, and thrive in the life you are in, even if it’s not the life you once imagined.”

Tracie Miles, author of Living Unbroken

She incorporates Happiness Prompters, Healing Steps, and a Caring for You section at the end of each chapter, which I found to be a really nice added touch! You don’t just get to read, you get to act and do, too! I wish this book was available to read way back when I was going through my own breakups as a young adult (before getting married). But more than that, I wish I could go back in time and hand a copy of Living Unbroken to my mom. (Disclaimer- my parents did end up getting back together! Amen!!!! Yet, for the year they were apart, it felt like a lifetime for all of us who were involved.) Needless to say, it was a rough time in her life, and I know she would have LOVED and cherished the book back then.

Okay, so it’s no longer 1993 and I can’t time travel, but what I can do now is highly recommend this book to others! I promise friends, if you have recently been through (or are currently going through) a divorce, a broken engagement, a major breakup or even the death of a spouse/significant other, you need to open this book. Packed with experience and wisdom from one of the best around, you’ll not want to put it down.

Can’t relate to this topic? Perhaps you have a friend or family member who can and is in need of Tracie’s book? Consider buying it for them as a treasured gift. You won’t be sorry. Neither will they. Living Unbroken is one of those books you don’t want to and can’t afford to miss. Pick up your copy today!

Forever in p.j.’s with you,

Melissa

P.S. I’ve added a couple links BELOW to check out Tracie Miles and Living Unbroken

https://davidccook.org/tracie-miles-living-unbroken-preorder/

Leave a comment